What is needed for a triathlon (all gear, from the obvious to the not so obvious)

Pin it

Home Triathlon Forum Basic/Newbie Forum What is needed for a triathlon (all gear, from the obvious to the not so obvious)

This topic contains 25 replies, has 15 voices, and was last updated by Avatar of theleftmike theleftmike 4 years, 9 months ago.

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 26 total)
  • Author
    theleftmike
    Participant

Hello, I’m new to the triathlon world but I’m really serious about becoming a triathlete.

I’m currently running 15mi in 72mins. I only have ridden a stationary bike but I did 22mi in 61min. And my swim is horrible but I did 4x200yds w/ 100yd rest avaraging 2:15 per 200yd. I dont know if thats fast or not, I have never swam competitivly before but I totalled 17min 42secs for all four 2 hundreds.

I also dont understand the importance of candance or how to get it. I googled it and from what I read its basically RPMs. On the stationary bike I try to stay around 95 no matter the level of the bike.

But my main issue is as the subject states, what gear is needed? No matter the importance, from the obvious things (i.e. a bike, swim suit, and running shoes) to the small things (i.e. a bookbag, transition mat, or a swim cap)

Im competing in a road race in Feb 27th and I cant have aerobars and I was looking at the Felt Z100 and Felt F95. I dont want to buy anything really expensive until I have a good grasp on triathlon scene.

Im about
    5’11” 165lbs (avg)
    10.3% Body Fat
    Dont know if it matters but Im a black male relatively alot of lean muscle mass
    My occupation is the marine corp

TonisTri
    Participant

Hey Mike, welcome to Trifuel. Read this: http://www.trifuel.com/training/race-day-prep/triathlon-transition-setup-and-checklist

then feel free to ask any follow-up questions.

theleftmike
    Participant

thank you

TheTriGeek
    Participant