Throw out the computers for first IM

Pin it

Home Triathlon Forum Triathlon Discussions Throw out the computers for first IM

This topic contains 17 replies, has 17 voices, and was last updated by Avatar of Ironmom Ironmom 4 years, 6 months ago.

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 18 total)
  • Author
    TriLiving
    Participant

I am doing my first full IM this year in Loiusville. I have been racing for many years — tons of sprints, olys, a half, etc. but never the big one. I use both a Powermeter and HRM in my training and in many cases my races. During shorter distance races, the power meter helps me to not slack off on the flats and not blow apart on the hills. I also use my Garmin for pacing on the run.

During a long ride this weekend, I was contemplating whether these devices could be a negative during an IM for a first timer. My thought is that the best approach would truly to take it by feel and to trust my training. I tend to get caught up on what my pace is, how much farther do I have. I could be on a slight incline or headwind on the bike and get frustrated if I sense my MPH is dropping off, or on the run have a target in mind and push more than I should.

If I am not at all concerned about missing cut-off times, would it be better to race with feel and just be in the moment? I have read that for a first timer you want a gear easier than you think on the bike for most of the time and to really go out comfortable on the run… all seems feel oriented. I do see an advantage to a clock to help manage nutrition, and I could see keeping the HR from redlining, same with the power. Anyway, was wondering of anyone has had similar thoughts….

Iron Dan
    Participant