So this Kona thing, all hype right?

Pin it

Home Triathlon Forum Triathlon Discussions So this Kona thing, all hype right?

This topic contains 19 replies, has 12 voices, and was last updated by Avatar of trekrider trekrider 4 years, 2 months ago.

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 20 total)
  • Author
    Quincyceltic
    Participant

I noticed that the lottery opened today for World Championship in Kona 2011, my question is, is the lottery worth trying? A guy on my tri team won a slot this year but does anyone know the odds? I figure it is 1 in 3000 or so based on the usually amount of entries in a typical Iron event. I hate to throw 40.00 dollars out the window (+ 50.00 for 2 entries) and not have a legitimate shot. I am fairly new to tri’s with my first Ironman next season at Lake Placid, however I went to Kona for my honeymoon in August and there is something special about the place, I can only imagine it come race week. So what do you guys and girls think good ROI?

TryScott
    Participant

You know more about the island than I do if you been there. I can tell you that if it was not the world championship, and it was just another race, it would not top my list. In the top is either France or Germany. Something out West with mountains would be nice. Hawaii is above a lot of other IM locations for me since it’s a vacation destination. The bad thing is it is one of the more expensive destinations.

Anton
    Participant

I know a number of folks who have raced at Kona (six, now that i think about it) They all feel it’s an over rated race. Too hot , too windy, too far, too hyped up, too full of people who are full of themselves and too expensive. Pretty location, maybe, I’m with Scott…I’d rather do Switzerland or Germany or France or Austria…even the UK race! Hell, I’d do IMLP again before going to Kona.