pool swim triathlons

Pin it

This topic contains 7 replies, has 6 voices, and was last updated by Avatar of jsk85 jsk85 6 years, 6 months ago.

Viewing 8 posts - 1 through 8 (of 8 total)
  • Author
    Tri4thlete
    Participant

So i’m doing an olympic triathlon in april, everything is outside except for the swim which is in a pool! I’ve never done an indoor pool triathlon swim before so how exactly do these work with all the people?

kylie
    Participant

Depends on the race, some do waves by speed, some do lanes by speed and you circle swim. Some do the pool part last so that people are spread out. Perhaps the race website has a bit more info about it?

Tri4thlete
    Participant

well this one is lanes by speed and it really doesnt give any more info except for that :(

NotAsFast
    Participant

Usually pool swims are done by seeding the competitor with a supplied seed time which s usally your 100yd pace over the distance. Then each competitor is send off in that seed order in a specific time interval, usually about 5 seconds with a break every 20-40 starters to spread out the field. I have done sprints in a pool up to 500 yds but an olympic distance is approx 72 lengths, so unless it is a big pool there is going to be major congestion in this race. I could be wrong, but a standard olympic pool can only be broken up into 20 lanes accross the pool (25 yds) so you will have to do approx 3.6 circuits of the pool in that configuration. The other possibility is that there will be a small number of competitors, which could put you on the podium.

jsk85
    Participant