Lifting twice a week vs thrice a week

Pin it

Home Triathlon Forum Triathlon Discussions Lifting twice a week vs thrice a week

This topic contains 6 replies, has 7 voices, and was last updated by Avatar of MarkyV MarkyV 6 years, 2 months ago.

Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
  • Author

Hey folks, I started training about 2 weeks ago. My background is cross country/track in high school, which turned into just recreational lifting in college (3-5 times a week, no cardio).

My cardio shape is obviously not tremendous, but it’s getting better.

For my first two weeks, I was following a plan that has me either cycling, running, or swimming 5 days a week. Within that mix, I threw in 3 days of lifting; spread out of course.

I’m getting a bit busier in terms of my work/school and was thinking of knocking it down to 2 lifting days a week (45-60 minute sessions).

Can I still make any gains with 2 days a week or will I lose muscle? Or will it be enough to simply maintain?

Thanks for your time

stewarba
    Participant

IMO, there is so many different ways to answer that depending on your goals. If you are trying to add muscle mass, then 2 days a week probably isn’t going to be significant enough to do that or at least notice any real gains. Of course that probably depends on the quality/type of lifting you’re doing. If you are just trying to throw in some weight training to augment your Tri training, I would say that you will be perfectly fine with 2 days a week (that’s what I do). If the latter is the case, I would recommend upping the reps and lowering the weight.

Tamara
    Participant

+1 that there’s a million different answers. Will you lose muscle mass if you decrease the amount of time spent lifting and increase the amount of time you spend on cardio activities? Most likely.