How big of a breakfast do you eat daily?

Pin it

Home Triathlon Forum Triathlon Discussions How big of a breakfast do you eat daily?

This topic contains 9 replies, has 9 voices, and was last updated by Avatar of Warrior Warrior 4 years, 7 months ago.

Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 10 total)
  • Author
    TriLiving
    Participant

This is my first year training for Ironman and the volume is really notching up as is the calorie burn. I am pretty happy with where I am from a weight perspective and want to maintain. I am finding I spend more time “replacing” versus fueling up. I typically try to spread out the meals, but seem to be ending up playing catch-up at dinner and even evening snack times. For a 3500+ calorie day, I am eating 5 to 6 times a day with a ~600 calorie breakfast and maybe 300 to 400 snack in the mid morning, etc…. I end up sometimes needing +1500 for dinner and evening… Does anyone eact huge breakfasts and then tapers their food towards the end of the day???

The Hoff
    Participant

How are your workouts scheduled in the day?

I think it depends when you work out. In spring/sumer, I usually work out at lunch and at night (occasionally in the morning). So, my morning breakfast is maybe 400 calories. My hardest work outs are evening group rides (1-2 hrs) in which I burn about 800 calories an hour. Therefore, I eat pretty well after those (1000 cals). This winter, I was doing a 530a cycling (not spinning) class then would run after. I would come home from those and make three giant pancakes and eat three eggs. Since my workouts were long completed by dinner, I wasn’t eating as much then.

You can always think of “replacing” as not only helping to fuel your muscle recovery, but also as fuel for the next day’s workouts.

cjhoffmn
    Participant