High Blood Pressure

Pin it

This topic contains 10 replies, has 9 voices, and was last updated by Avatar of emzman emzman 6 years, 5 months ago.

Viewing 11 posts - 1 through 11 (of 11 total)
  • Author
    emzman
    Participant

So, I took my blood pressure today and it read 132/75. I’m 37 yrs.-old with a history of heart disease on both sides of my family. I’m 5’5″ and weigh around 190 lbs. My mom says that it’s high for my age. I’ve been training 10-12 hours per week for the last 3 years. My question is, isn’t exercise supposed to keep my b.p. down? I don’t think that my diet is that bad. I don’t eat very much fried food and I eat a lot of carbs and protein (mostly chicken). I don’t eat as much as veggies as I should though. Any suggestions on how to lower my b.p. would really help.

fpugsley
    Participant

I would suggest cutting out all salt from your foods. dont add it to anything and dont eat out much. I have high BP also, and eating right, training and not putting salt on anything seems to keep me from needing medication, and I am only 28.

Dont use any stimulants like coffee, or other “sports supplements” because pretty much anything you use as a supplement will raise your BP.

Other than that, what does your regular doctor say about your BP history? He/she should be able to give you sound advice.

WillbIM1Day
    Participant

You’re totally in the “normal” range and have nothing to worry about. Check out this chart:

http://www.vaughns-1-pagers.com/medicine/blood-pressure.htm

With the amount you train and the number of calories you consume, if I were you I’d be more cognizant of my cholesterol numbers (triglycerides, LDL, total cholesterol). Your training is nothing but a treat for your BP and heart rate.

emzman
    Participant

I haven’t seen a doctor in 6 years. You can say that I have a phobia about going to the doctors. It seems like they never have anything good to tell you.

qb ant
    Participant