GI trouble from drinking gatorade?

Pin it

This topic contains 7 replies, has 8 voices, and was last updated by Avatar of admin admin 8 years, 3 months ago.

Viewing 8 posts - 1 through 8 (of 8 total)
  • Author
    Anonymous

As part of my tri training I have been trying to get used to drinking electrolyte replenishing drinks like gatorade. I just started training with gatorade last Saturday and I am sorry to report that my GI tract has not been happy about it. I won’t elaborate too much, but let’s just say that I have been drinking a lot of water to replenish what was lost. I have been on a fairly specific diet plan for the last three or four months that has focused on complex carbohydrates and lean protein, for weight loss purposes. Is my body simply reacting badly to the refined sugar of gatorade? Has anyone else had this experience? Thanks in advance for your help.

deepbluex
    Participant

Have you tried diluting your mix so it’s more watered down? I usually use a mixture that has half the gatorade recommended.

tri_newbie_nerd
    Participant

I don’t get to the point that I have the GI troubles you do, but very rarely can I drink that stuff straight- too much sugar! I ended up feeling more dehydrated than I started. I often dilute 50/50 (which I have read in Gatorade’s own literature that they have specified to drink it as such) and even that is still too sweet at times.

Watch that they don’t use high fructure corn syrup as the 2nd main ingredient. Usually its sucrose, but I swear I’ve seen some bottles that list HFCS as the sugar. At any rate, some people can’t tolerate HFCS. But they generally have problem with other fructose-laden foods such as fruit (esp. apples) and certain artifical sweetners.

Star
    Participant