— Forum Discussions —

10 posts / 0 new
Last post
TriLiving's picture
How big of a breakfast do you eat daily?

This is my first year training for Ironman and the volume is really notching up as is the calorie burn. I am pretty happy with where I am from a weight perspective and want to maintain. I am finding I spend more time "replacing" versus fueling up. I typically try to spread out the meals, but seem to be ending up playing catch-up at dinner and even evening snack times. For a 3500+ calorie day, I am eating 5 to 6 times a day with a ~600 calorie breakfast and maybe 300 to 400 snack in the mid morning, etc.... I end up sometimes needing +1500 for dinner and evening... Does anyone eact huge breakfasts and then tapers their food towards the end of the day???

The Hoff's picture
How are your workouts

How are your workouts scheduled in the day?

I think it depends when you work out. In spring/sumer, I usually work out at lunch and at night (occasionally in the morning). So, my morning breakfast is maybe 400 calories. My hardest work outs are evening group rides (1-2 hrs) in which I burn about 800 calories an hour. Therefore, I eat pretty well after those (1000 cals). This winter, I was doing a 530a cycling (not spinning) class then would run after. I would come home from those and make three giant pancakes and eat three eggs. Since my workouts were long completed by dinner, I wasn't eating as much then.

You can always think of "replacing" as not only helping to fuel your muscle recovery, but also as fuel for the next day's workouts.

cjhoffmn's picture
I tend to eat about 450-500

I tend to eat about 450-500 calories for breakfast on most days when I'm working out. I'm shooting for about 2600-3000 calories in general, and I definitely eat more in the morning-lunch than in the late afternoon, in effect tapering food before my workouts.

jnrice's picture
as much as I can get my