— Forum Discussions —

7 posts / 0 new
Last post
yasa86's picture
Abu Dhabi International Triathlon

Hi everyone, Im new to triathlons ( only did 2 sprints ) Ive been running for 10 years now. Currently, Im training for the Abu dhabi triathlon in March 2010 with a unique distance of 1.5kms,100kms,and 10kms. My strength is the running, and not so much on the bike (my skinny legs dont help me here) How long do u think 100kms would take an average person to do in a triathlon? I tried to look for similar triathlon race results but was not lucky, and i havent yet timed myself for the 100km ride. Due to the beautiful weather here ( 30cms of snow with wind gusts of 40km/hr) i will only be able to go on my bike after Jan 14 (moving to the UAE!!! ) that leaves me only about 2 months of bike training :(, could really use some expert advice about how to train in this marvelous weather for the bike portion of the race n more!
thanks all! :)
Yasmin

mwconstruct1972 (not verified)
mwconstruct1972's picture
100km is about 6 miles

100km is about 6 miles longer than the 56 mile bike in a Half Iron distance race. You should be able to find plenty of races to compare at that distance. I think "average" would be between 3 and 4 hours for mere mortals. As far as winter training- get a trainer or a stationary bike and spin away. Build conservatively over the winter (no more than 10% increase per week) and the race in the spring should be no problem.

Good luck

VANZK's picture
Depends on course,

Depends on course, conditions..i.e heat,wind...but i would say for top age groupers around 2.5hrs

CadenceGuy's picture
mwconstruct1972 wrote:100km