— Forum Discussions —

stupid rant!

Let me start by saying it was a beautiful day and I wasn't in a rush, so it could've been worse...but...I am CURSED!!!!
Today I had the 3rd flat in 6 rides. Not even really long rides. Luckily I was close to a bike shop b/c I almost had a Normann Stadler moment. I stomped in there (as well as I could with bike shoes on) and asked them to PLEASE tell me what was wrong with my rear tire. So, they took it off, found the hole in the tube, looked in the tire and on the rim, nada!! Just bad luck. WAAAA!
Okay, rant over. Now if anyone wants to give advice, commiserrate or call me a big baby, have at it.

I feel your pain, while riding to work last summer, 24 miles one way, I double flatted not once but twice in one week. Doesn't start the day off good, and my wife really didn't like having to get the kids up and in the car to come get me either.

I had a similar episode on my commuter last fall. I was a LBS mechanic for many years ... so I know what I am doing when it comes to fixing flats. This problem turned out to be a very small thorn that was lodged in the tire. I would fix it and then flat again after about 3 days. It couldn't be felt at all from the inside of the tire ... I only found it after very closely inspecting the outside of the tire and checking out every little nick in the tread.

All that being said, your problem could very well turn out to just be bad luck.

I had a similar situation a few years ago. I had a flat during a triathlon, replaced the tube and finished the race. A few days later, I was inflating my tires to get ready for a training ride and the tube blew again. I gave it a closer inspection this time and noticed that the rim tape had worked loose in one spot just enough to expose the edge of a spoke hole.

Before your next ride wrap your self in old tire tubes and old tires and do the "No Flat dance" to appease the bike and tire gods.

Then you should be okay.