— Forum Discussions —

15 posts / 0 new
Last post
michiels's picture
Off season training

Hi,

this is my first year training for a triathlon (I started in april). I have completed two triathlons this year and want to go into off season training.

How should I approach off season?
Anyone know of a free plan?
Should I still train every day and train bike 3 times, run 3 times and swim 3 times a week?

Any suggestions are welcome.

CadenceGuy's picture
If you spend some time

If you spend some time hanging out around the site here looking through previous posts and the search on the top youll find all sorts of ideas, and training plans depending on your skill level and amount of fitness. Conrads on the first season and good luck!!

beads1985's picture
There it is again, those

There it is again, those words "Off Season"? ;-)

When it is too cold to tri, I run more and hit the pool at the YMCA and do some indoor bike trainer riding, and maybe some spin classes.

I use the time to run marathons and prep for other marathons.

michiels's picture
beads1985 the cold is not a

beads1985 the cold is not a problem. Here where I live I can swim, ride and run ALL year long. No cold weather at all.
I would do Off Season only because people recommende me, not because I have to.

Eric

Toothless's picture
Most long-course athletes I

Most long-course athletes I know train all year. After the last race of the season they might take a couple of weeks off to relax, but then they start laying the foundation for the next season. I am already doing a long training block with a bike focus since that is my weakest event and the one that takes the most time to train. I dialed back my swim and run training to more of a "maintenance" level during this phase.