— Forum Discussions —

12 posts / 0 new
Last post
groovyjen's picture
Road bike suggestions for a short (5'2") woman? Newbie here

This is a beginner question, but about gear, so I wasn't sure which forum would be the best.

So, did my first sprint recently on essentially a mountain bike. Definitely thinking I could be less pitifully slow on something lighter.

Any suggestions for shorties? I'd love to do used if possible, more bang for the buck and all that.

I tried out a Giant OCR 1w at the bike shop and really liked that. Borrowed a friend's Trek. Seemed like a nice ride, but the frame is way big for me on this particular bike (54 cm, I think?). From my decidedly limited bike experience, I think I might benefit from a women specific design, given my height.

Planning to stick with the sprint distance, as that is plenty hard core for me.

Appreciate any suggestions for this newbie!

StephenPDennis's picture
Well, off the bat unless you

Well, off the bat unless you have a rather... unique... leg to torso ratio 54cm is definitely way to big for you. I'm 5'11" with longer than average legs and ride a 54cm myself (although they all tell me to ride 56cm)
Since I just went through the whole ordeal I'll give you some rules of thumb that I went by when looking at bikes but keep in mind that test rides at your Local bike shop will help you more than some guy you don't know in an internet forum.

Budget - I found it easy to be swayed by a $2500 tribike that would never have fit into my budget. I told myself $1500 was the max and I ended up finding a great Scott for $1200. If the newest model doesn't work, try used, try e-bay or craig's list, or (if you can wait) next winter. Around February/March bike sellers have huuuge sales.