— Forum Discussions —

7 posts / 0 new
Last post
jddk23's picture
Sore quads - Overtrained or something else?

Hello everybody,

I have a question about some discomfort I’ve been feeling later and it worries me. I’ve made an appointment with the doctor, but till I can see him I wanted to see if you experienced this. My quads are too sore and nothing seems to release them; especially the top front and the internal lower section (Rectus Femoris and Vastus Medialis).

I thought at first that I was overtraining, and took a week off, with some recreational short and low intensity rides and some short swims, but still the discomfort continues in both legs as soon as I run a few miles. I haven’t changed the intensity of my training abruptly, and I’ve been training for almost 2 years now. I don’t know what this could be related to other than work-related stress and bad rest.

Could that be simply overtraining and I should completely stop for a while? Or it could be something else? And if I had to stop completely, how long would it be a reasonable time?

Thank you everybody for your comments!!

Take care,

Jorge

jkrabbe's picture
An online diagnosis is

An online diagnosis is unlikely but here's a suggestion. Go for some active release massage, try taking another week off of running, you can probably still swim. How much stretching do you incorporate in your week? If none, perhaps add a bit.

Give it another concerted effort at backing off before you consider yourself broken. The fact that you haven't changed much and that you don't mention any specific events seems to suggest that you aren't in huge trouble.

theShiba's picture
Sound like it's going to

Sound like it's going to require amputation. ;)